Ballon d'Or: Thibaut Courtois Wins 2022 Yashin Trophy

Thibaut Courtois of Real Madrid has been awarded the Yashin Trophy for his outstanding performances during the 2021/22 season.

After largely failing to replicate his Atletico Madrid and Chelsea performances following his move to the Santiago Bernabeu in 2018, Courtois put in several outstanding performances as Real Madrid won La Liga and the Champions League last season.

His crowning achievement came in May’s Champions League final, when he kept a clean sheet and made a number of incredible saves as Real Madrid defeated Liverpool 1-0 at the Stade de France. For his efforts, Courtois was named Player of the Match.

Courtois is the third winner of the award since it was established in 2019, with Alisson receiving the inaugural prize. Following the cancellation of the Ballon d’Or awards by France Football in 2020, they were reinstated in 2021, with Gianluigi Donnarumma receiving the Yashin Trophy.

While this is Courtois’ first official win, the RSSSF declared that he would have won in 2018 because he was the highest-ranked goalkeeper in Ballon d’Or voting.

Courtois has carried his excellent form from last season into this season, with Real Madrid still unbeaten and looking a safe bet to retain their La Liga title.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form