2023 Laureus World Sports Award : Full List Of Nominees


A host of Olympic champions have been shortlisted to win Laureus World Sports Awards in the Sportsman, Sportswoman, Breakthrough and Comeback of the Year categories.

Multiple gold medallists Mikaela Shiffrin (alpine skiing) and Katie Ledecky (swimming), Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (athletics), and Tokyo 2020 Olympic star Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone (athletics) are on a shortlist of six for the Sportswoman of the Year award.

Pole vault world record holder and Olympic champ Armand Mondo Duplantis, double tennis Olympic gold medallist Rafael Nadal, and 2022 FIFA World Cup winner **Lionel Messi**are in the running for the Sportsman of the Year.

Beijing 2022 winners Ailing (Eileen) Gu (freestyle skiing) and Chloe Kim (snowboarding) are nominees in the Action Sportsperson of the year while reigning men's figure skating singles Olympic champion Nathan Chen is in the running for Breakthrough of the year.

Norwegian 1500m Olympic champion Jakob Ingebrigtsen and Klay Thompson, who took gold with Team USA at Rio 2016, are listed for the Comeback of the Year.

The winners of the awards, which recognise the world's greatest athletes and teams, and the inspirational power of sport will be announced in spring.

The complete list of nominees can be found below.

Sportswoman of the Year

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (Jamaica) Athletics

Katie Ledecky (USA) Swimming

Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone (USA) Athletics

Alexia Putellas (Spain) Football

Mikaela Shiffrin (USA) Alpine Skiing

Iga Świątek (Poland) Tennis

Team of the Year

Argentina Men’s Football Team

England Women’s Football Team

France Men’s Rugby Team

Golden State Warriors (USA) Basketball

Real Madrid (Spain) Football

Oracle Red Bull Racing (Austria)

Breakthrough of the Year

Carlos Alcaraz (Spain) Tennis

Tobi Amusan (Nigeria) Athletics

Nathan Chen (USA) Figure Skating

Morocco Men's Football Team

Elena Rybakina (Kazakhstan) Tennis

Scottie Scheffler (USA) Golf

Comeback of the Year

Francesco Bagnaia (Italy) Motor Cycling

Christian Eriksen (Denmark) Football

Jakob Ingebrigtsen (Norway) Athletics

Klay Thompson (USA) Basketball

Annemiek van Vleuten (Netherlands) Cycling

Tiger Woods (USA) Golf

Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability

Diede de Groot (Netherlands) Wheelchair Tennis

Catherine Debrunner (Switzerland) Para Athletics

Declan Farmer (USA) Para Ice Hockey

Cameron Leslie (New Zealand) Para Swimming and Wheelchair Rugby

Oksana Masters (USA) Para Cross-Country Skiing and Para Cycling

Jesper Saltvik Pedersen (Norway) Para Alpine Skiing

Action Sportsperson of the Year

Justine Dupont (France) Big Wave Surfing

Stephanie Gilmore (Australia) Surfing

Ailing (Eileen) Gu (China) Freestyle Skiing

Chloe Kim (USA) Snowboarding

Rayssa Leal (Brazil) Skateboarding

Filipe Toledo (Brazil) Surfing

Sport for Good Award

Boxgirls (Kenya) Boxing

High Five (Germany) Action Sports

Made For More (South Africa) Multi-sport

Slum Soccer (India) Football

TeamUp (Global) Movement

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form